Prequel: Self Study

Chapter 2, Text 17 of the Bhagavad-gītā states: “One who is, however, taking pleasure in the self, who is illuminated in the self, who rejoices in and is satisfied with the self only, fully satiated – for him there is no duty”. Give or take some yogic context as well as the fact that this text is meant to be read in a pure form and not through the lens of one’s own personal experiences.

Over the course of the next month I will be doing a series of self portraits based on how I feel that day or what my perspective may be. This is my prequel/before blurb, in other words, this is where I am at today. Over the course of the next five weeks I will be engaging in seclusion, self discovery, intellectual and artistic activity, and diving into yoga, and over that course of time I will be documenting myself. I will also be actively journaling. and hope to share some of the more enlightened products of that process as well.

The rules for these photos include absolutely no air brushing and the maintenance of integrity of the self and the process over the fruits of my labor. One who works towards final products only is never satisfied. And this kind of artistic process is incredibly intimate and vulnerable, and to share the product of a process of this nature is to give the viewer a glimpse into my own personal worldhood as my own personal being-for-myself.

 

I can’t wait to share my growth with you all in a few weeks and I can’t wait to look back on this post to see where I am coming from.

Leave a Reply

