Portraiture in Motion

In Composition I with Daniel Roberts we have been studying the application of fine art into motion with a focus on abstract works, sculptures, and portraits. After many group and individual studies in class, our work culminated into solo pieces based on the work of our choice which we chose form the Columbus Museum of Art. Below are two examples of studies I have done during this unity, both based on portraiture.

Image-24

Self Portrait of Japanese artist Yayoi Kusama

This study is based on a self portrait of Yayoi Kusama done in the 1960s. In this assignment, we received a portrait in pairs and then had 20 minutes to interpret them separately and prepare a study to be shown to the class. In making this piece I focused on the juxtaposition of the prim position the woman is sitting in with the almost comically bright hair on her head and the vibrant background. I tried to pull elements of the background such as the large twisted eyes and pursed lips and translate them to movement, hence the heavy use of my head and face. I personally find that I work best under pressure and when I don’t get the opportunity to overthink my choices. I did not take myself too seriously and tried to have fun with this one, and found it was much better received by my audience of peers than expected.

 

summersun

Edward Hopper “Morning Sun” (1952)

This study is based on Edward Hopper’s 1952 “Morning Sun”, currently installed in the Columbus Museum of Art. In this scenario, we were assigned to create outside of class and had the ensuing weekend to work.I intended to emulate the fact that while is clear that the bedroom in this photo is absolutely washed with beautiful light, the girl’s eyes are completely black. While it immediately seems happy, this photo has a sad, somber quality to it, along with a very soft sensibility which I tried to emulate in my movement. Also, in understanding that most of Hopper’s work has to do with intimacy and aloofness in society, I played with a feeling of loneliness and tried to see how I could imply that I was alone in a crowded world, while working with just a solo. I am not quite as proud of this piece and I think it is because I did have so much more time to overthink all of my movement.

Leave a Reply

